The School Trip

They should have been watching. But my little girl is gone…

On this crisp October day, the class of six-year-old children are wrapped up warm in gloves and coats for their trip to a local farm. They giggle as they stroke the animals and search for the perfect Halloween pumpkin, and as I watch my daughter Claire race off with her friends, the pink ribbon in her hair bouncing, I breathe a sigh of relief. It’s been so hard since my husband died and my sweet little girl deserves to be happy.

But as the sun sets and the teachers gather the children, Claire is nowhere to be seen.

We call the police and frantically scour the fields and playgrounds, my heart breaking as I cry out Claire’s name. And then a detective shows me a video: my daughter, skipping away from the farm, holding hands with an adult in a bulky coat, their cap pulled down low.

My blood turns to ice. Claire would never leave with a stranger. Whoever took her must be someone I know.

But who could want to punish me this badly? Is it linked to the night I refuse to think about—the terrible night my husband died?

Did my mistakes put my baby girl in danger?
Can I save her by finally facing the past?
Or will I lose her forever when the truth comes out?

Gripping, addictive, unpredictable and completely chilling. Just a few of the ways I’d describe this latest book from Miranda Smith. This has been everything I’d hoped for and so much more.

Imagine a situation of not just one, but two missing children. As a teacher, this is my biggest fear. So instantly I have been completely hooked by this one. Although I teach teenagers, not little ones the horror has hit me hard. A missing child is that instant “oh no” sicky, feeling of dread.

Emma thinks her daughter is safely with her friend and colleague while she helps with the search for the first missing child. However, it’s only when little Katy is found, Emma’s horror really begins.

Little Claire is missing and she is made aware quickly that it could be abduction. Smith has had me filled with tension and suspense throughout this entire read. I’ve devoured page after page in just one sitting. Everyone I suspected, seemed far too obvious and Smith spins a very clever web with this one.

The School Trip has transported me. I’ve felt completely overwhelmed and caught up in what was taking place. Smith writes in a way that you feel as though everything is familiar.

I’ve read many books by this author, this is high up on the favourites list. This has been a truly fantastic read which has kept me awake far too late. There was no way I could sleep without finishing this delight.

The School Trip is another brilliant book by a hugely talented author. I highly recommend this brilliant book.

Leave a comment